Our new COVID - 19 Contact section can be found in 'Our Office'. Please check regularly for any updates. We will text if there is any urgent information is posted.
Home Page

St Stephen's C of E Junior School

'Learning to change the World' 'Act justly, love mercy and walk humbly with your God' - Micah 6:8
  • Search
  • Translate


Our Governance Team

Colin Brough - Chair of Governors
Louisa Wilson - Headteacher
Rosie Cook - Deputy Headteacher
Nicola Read - Chair of Achievement & Provision
Anita Randen-Green - Chair of Finance & Resources
Kristina Parfrey - Chair of Community & Ethos
Hannah Phillips - Deputy Safeguarding Governor
Lisa Wigmore - Foundation Governor
Lynsey Lowrie - Co-Opted Governor
Rachael Simeone - Clerk to Governors
Philip Webb - Associate Member


Thank you for your interest in governance at St Stephen's Junior School.


The Governing Body is made up of up to 15 individual governors who are elected, or appointed, by the organisations that have a stake in ensuring the success of the school.

Parent Governors are elected by the parents / carers of our pupils; Foundation Governors are selected by the Bristol Diocese of the Church of England; Local Authority Governors are approved by South Gloucestershire Council and Staff Governors are appointed from the school teaching staff. The governing body can appoint Co-opted Governors where a specific skill set or specialised knowledge is required. The Head Teacher is also invited to be a permanent member of the Governing Body.

The category of the individual governors pictured above, and their responsibilities, can be found on the Governors Disclosure of Information page.

To contact any member of the Governing Body please ask at the school office and they will pass your details to the relevant governor.


What we do……

The head teacher is accountable for the operational day-to-day running of the school.

The Governing Body is responsible for monitoring and improving school performance and standards. Broadly this involves, holding the head teacher to account for educational performance, ensuring financial resources are well spent and agreeing the ethos, vision and future plans for the school.

To help carry out these responsibilities there are four of sub-committees each consisting of the head teacher and three to five governors.


There are three sub committees which challenge and monitor the school:

  • Community & Ethos
  • Achievement and provision
  • Finance and Resources


The Community & Ethos Committee  focusses on attendance, behaviour, pupil safety and equality matters, as well as representing the local Christian community, helping to nurture a distinctive Christian ethos within the school.


The Achievement & Provision Committee  focusses on educational performance, quality of teaching, the curriculum, staffing and the performance of the head teacher and staff members.


The  Finance & Resources Committee focusses on building and facilities repair and improvement, budgets and financial control. 


With staff, parents and children we hope our work helps in the fostering of a caring, safe, creative environment. Our aim is for all children to reach their full potential and leave inspired to continue their learning.